Cover image for The Fisher of Bones

The Fisher of Bones

A novellette in 12 parts

by Sarah Gailey


The Prophet is dead.

The eyes of the Gods have turned to his daughter. But she isn’t ready. Not for the whispers in her ear, for the divinations… for the blood. Her people’s history and their future, carved by ancients into the bones of long dead behemoths, are now her burden. Only she can read them, interpret the instructions, and guide them to the Promised Land.

Their journey is almost at an end, but now, without the Prophet, she must find a way to guide them to the place they will call Home. Through blood and through sand, against the will of her own flock, against the horrors that haunt the darkness, only she can bring her people Home.

The Prophet is dead. Long live the Prophetess.


Chapter One — Naming

Chapter Two — Cycle

Chapter Three — Increase

Chapter Four — Loss

Chapter Five — Fear

Chapter Six — Discovery

Chapter Seven — Storm

Chapter Eight — Anticipation

Chapter Nine — Sundering

Chapter Ten — Nearness

Chapter Eleven — Recognition

Chapter Twelve — Arrival

About the author

Hugo and Campbell award finalist Sarah Gailey lives and works in beautiful Portland, Oregon. Their nonfiction has been published by Mashable and the Boston Globe, and their fiction has been published internationally. They are a regular contributor for and Barnes & Noble. You can find links to their work at They tweet @gaileyfrey.

About the author