Cover image for The Forever Endeavor

The Forever Endeavor

A novella in 12 parts

by Chuck Wendig


Dale Gilooly has a problem. Well, Dale has a lot of problems. Addiction. Rent. A girlfriend he let slip away.

But Dale has a solution. It’s a Box. And it will let him go back 10 minutes in time. Enough to fix his new mistakes as they happen. And give him an edge to fix the old ones that haunt him.

Oh, and one other problem: Where did these other Dales come from?

Walter Bard has a problem. Well, Walter has twenty problems. Each of them a body buried in a pumpkin patch. And… they’re all the same. Down to the teeth.

But Walter has a solution. It’s his job. Solutions. He’s a detective, after all.


Publishers Weekly praised The Forever Endeavor for its “creative narrative and a sense for visceral action” and said “Wendig successfully busts the niche’s conventions wide open, and he throws in a few winking asides to his previous work that will evoke a grim chortle from his fans.”


Part 1 — Mistakes Were Made

Part 2 — Ham Salad

Part 3 — Is Bliss

Part 4 — The Bird and the Worm

Part 5 — Murder-Suicide

Part 6 — A Plate of Strange Meat

Part 7 — Hot Dale-On-Dale Action

Part 8 — Feast and Famine

Part 9 — Tangled Sheets

Part 10 — Undertow

Part 11 — Mistakes Were Made

Part 12 — Cosmic Forces at Your Local Waffle House

About the Author

Chuck Wendig is a novelist, screenwriter, and game designer. He is the author of the novels Blackbirds, Mockingbirds, The Blue Blazes, and Under the Empyrean Sky. He is an alumni of the Sundance Screenwriter’s Lab and is the co-author of the Emmy-nominated digital narrative Collapsus. He lives in Pennsyltucky with wife, son, and two dopey dogs. You can find him on Twitter @ChuckWendig and at his website,, where he frequently dispenses dubious and very-NSFW advice on writing, publishing, and life in general.